Craft Fayre no. 3

When I applied for a stall at a fayre in Maes y Coed, Cardiff, I’d beeen reading up on setting out an effective but attractive table. I looked at template layouts, display props and pricing. This was a new fayre run by a long time friend; there was no application form to fill out  and the table price was reasonable. I even remembered to ask about the size of the table after the last time (see previous posting) and gave myself a pat on the back.

So, when I arrived 45 minutes before the doors open, you’d think I was all ready and knew what I was going to do. NO. Yet again, I was worried about reining myself in and ended up gettting in a fuddle over what was going where. I had plenty of room, so that wasn’t an issue; it was me panicking about time and getting the display ready that made me nervous.

20160305_134215

I was more prepared this time though, in fairness to me. I had ordered some very professional price displays so there was no need to tag each individual item. I even had a comment from a friend who said ‘Where on earth do you get things like that!’ I thought I’d try grouping together items of the same price in order to avoid too much clutter, and I think it worked rather well but this method doesn’t really allow for colour co-ordination, so again I felt it was a bit messy. I can’t help that I like things matchy matchy!

20160305_134221

Pricing. Yes, that old thing again. Because I’m new to fayres, pricing for venues can be quite difficult and I decided to take a chance and just sell items between £5 and £25. I think I got it right, but here’s a surprise – the cheaper items didn’t sell at all! The average price of an item sold was between £15 and £20. I think I learned something there for future fayres.

Still on pricing, a jeweller was perusing my table with interest and she said my prices were too low for gemstones and chains. She picked up a silver plated large link bracelet and couldn’t believe the  £10 price tag. When I explained it was silver plate and quite lightweight, she said ‘But see how effective it looks – it stands out!’. Good point, and I shall take that forward (I have already upped my price on that already).

I sold a few items – not as many as I would have liked, but there was quite a bit of interest and again some picked up my business card. I really must put more items on my Folksy page!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment